Full Form of LBW

What is the Full form of LBW?

Full Form of LBW is Leg before wicket (lbw)

What is LBW

Leg before wicket or lbw is one of the ways in which a batsman can be suspended in the field during a cricket sport. Following an appeal by the fielding side, the umpire may rule a batter out lbw if the ball would have struck the wicket, but was instead intercepted by any part of the batter’s body (except the hand holding the bat).

Facts of LBW in Cricket India

Who are Top Indian Bowlers with the Most Number of LBW Dismissals?

Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble grabbed 956 wickets in his career. Out of 956 dismissals, 210 wickets were in the form of LBW.

Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev bagged 687 wickets in 356 matches of his career, out of which 152 wickets were leg before ones LBWs.

Zaheer Khan

His LBW wickets were 113, out of 610 wickets under his belt.

Ravichandran Ashwin

Ashwin has so far bagged 567 wickets, out of which 106 are LBW ones.

Harbhajan Singh

Out of 711 wickets, 100 wickets were in the form of LBW ones.

When did LBW appear first?

Leg before wicket (LBW) first appeared in the laws of cricket in 1774, as batsmen began to use their pads to prevent the ball from hitting their wicket.

How lbw is given in cricket?

  • For a batsman to be out leg before wicket, the umpire must make a decision that the ball has hit the batsman on the body and would have gone on to hit the stumps, subject to certain conditions.
  • The bowler should have bowled a legal delivery. No ball is not accepted.
  • The ball should not have pitched outside the line of the leg stump.
  • The ball should hit any part of the batsman not limited to legs, apart from the hand holding the bat, in line with the stumps; unless the umpire decides the batsmen isn’t playing a shot, in which case the impact of the ball on the pad/body can be outside the line of off stump as well, but not outside leg stump.
  • The umpire must then decide whether the predicted trajectory of the ball would have taken it on to hit the stumps.
  • However, if the ball has touched the bat or the hand holding the bat, before hitting the body, the batsman can’t be lbw.

Enjoy ? Share with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on WhatsApp

Thousands of Question-Answers

Clear Any Doubt

Join PrepriseAsk Students Community

Disclaimer

Due care has been taken to ensure that the information provided in this content is correct. However, Preprise bear no responsibility for any damage resulting from any inadvertent omission or inaccuracy in the content. Help us to improve Preprise.com: Contact us.

Leave a Comment

76 − = 74